Advocates on Steps of Congress 2013
Please leave this field empty

Advocate Resources


Webinar 6:  Monday, March 26, 2018 – What to Expect During Capitol Hill Day

  • Team Building
  • Key Talking Points of the Bill
  • Implementing Advocacy Strategies


Webinar 1:  Monday, October 23, 2017  Grassroots Advocacy Overview

  • Vision, Mission and Goals
  • Equipping Advocates through Grassroots Efforts
  • Spreading the Word

Webinar 2:  Monday, November 27, 2017 Preparing and Sharing your Elevator Speech (pre-recorded) 

  • Preparing your Elevator Speech
  • Opportunities/Missed Opportunities
  • Teachable Moments
  • Examples

Webinar 3:  Monday, December 11, 2017 Using Your Voice to Advance Research and Improve Care: Tips for Effective Advocacy and Congressional Outreach presented by Philip Goglas II and Dane Christiansen of Health & Medicine Counsel of Washington (HMCW)

Webinar 4:  Monday, January 22, 2018  Effective Public Speaking

  • Gestures and Body Language
  • Speaking to Diverse Audiences
  • Visual Aids and Props
  • Talking to Elected Officials

Webinar 5: Monday, Feb. 26, 2018 
"Using Your Voice to Meet with an Elected Official"

Sit in on a mock meeting that's just like the ones patient advocates have in the offices of Congress members. This small group of advocates will likely include a patient who had undergone stem cell therapy, a parent or caregiver of a child with scleroderma, a patient who uses a medical device and an advocate who works in a chapter. Excellent opportunity to see what the day is all about.


To join a prescheduled webinar:

  1. Click on the following link (or cut and paste into your browser):
  2. Dial 302-202-5900.
  3. Enter Conference ID 710-462-255.
  4. Please place your phone and your computer on mute (or turn the volume all the way down) to avoid feedback. 
  5. The link and dial in information is the same for each webinar. 

Please note the following:

  • Each webinar will begin promptly at 2 p.m. Eastern; 1 p.m. Central; 12 p.m. Mountain; 11 a.m. Pacific
  • Webinars are best viewed through a desktop or laptop computer; they are not optimized for smartphones or tablets/iPads.
  • Each webinar will be approximately 30 minutes (including time for Q&A).
  • Questions may be submitted through the chat window and responded to during the webinar or at the end. 
  • Webinars will be recorded and posted below as well as to the foundation’s official YouTube channel.
  • Please note that some presentation may be pre-recorded. If so, those recorded presentations will be posted before the previously scheduled webinar date and time.

RECORDED VIDEOS (click link to view video):

Contact David Murad, Director or Chapter Relations, at with questions or for more information. Additional resources are below to assist you in your advocacy activities:

An Online Guide to the Legislative Process >>

Tips to Talk to Elected Officials >>